WHY I DIDN’t POST ANYTHING FROM THE 1ST to THE 7th OF WOMEN’S MONTH

Today is the eightth day of August already — the month that’s supposed to be Women’s month in South Africa, and the second most special month of the year for me,despite being the last month in the winter of the Southern hemisphere. The most special month of the year for me will depend on the month during which Lent and Easter is observed.

One of the reasons that makes August so special is that it is the birthday month of both my husband and myself. Our birthdays are exactly two weeks apart. We always joke about it, because it is only during that period when there seems to be an age difference of two years between us, although the truth is that the exact age gap between us is one year and two weeks …

Except for that, the entire month of August is observed as Women’s month in South Africa, and the 9th of August is also a public holiday here.

The first week of August marks international breastfeeding awareness week — a week set apart to encourage and promote breastfeeding-something about which I am very passionate.

With everything that’s going on in August, I often become thrilled and maybe unnecessarily excited about the thought that I was born during the first week of August (during international breastfeeding awareness week) and the month of women. For some reason, it makes me feel privileged, feminine, beautiful, and most of all, destined for things so great and awesome that they are beyond what I can think or imagine …

If August is of such great significance to me then, why didn’t I start posting about my journey as a woman or the things that concern women at the start of the month already? Why am I only starting to post in this blog today?

In short, the answer to this question is simply this: I screwed up big time! That’s all. Nothing more; nothing less. But that’s what happens when one keeps on postponing …

Or wait, maybe I’m really not such a devil after all, because I kept on postponing to write in here as I had things on my mind that enjoy a higher priority than blogging right now, such as attending to and organising for our relocation from one town in a certain povince in South Africa to another province.

When I had time to blog last week, I constantly battled to stay focused as my head felt thick and sore, especially from Wednesday to Friday of last week while I had access to the internet. Heck, thanks to that, I literally had a snotty birthday and I slept through the better part of my birthday because I just couldn’t concentrate.

When my husband took me out to celebrate it, I struggled to hold my tongue. It was very hard for me not to complain about that all-too-familiar way my body ached to warn that I’m having a very bad case of the flu. If it wasn’t for the phonecalls I got after we went home that night, I would’ve gone to bed immediately upon our arrival, but shame, my folks didn’t know, and I really didn’t mind that they were calling me. They meant well.

But anyway, that was why I didn’t get to blogging last week. But I already drafted and completed tomorrow’s entry for this blog seeing that tomorrow is National Women’s Day in South Africa.

So, to those of you living in a part of the world where it’s morning, have a nice day. If it’s in the afternoon where you are,good afternoon. To those of us who will be going to bed shortly, goodnight.

Author: Jaz

I'm a down-to-earth Christian woman in my thirties, happily married, and the mother to two kids, a boy and a girl. I love writing, because it gives me the platform to be creative. However, this is not all there is to it for me. Writing about stuff also serves as a kind of a therapy that helps to equip me to overcome life circumstances positively, which was the initial reason for my decision to join Wordpress, because then I'd be able to launch a personal blog where I can share my life experiences, life lessons, and emotions at a given time. As such, I would definitely appreciate your listening ears (or reading eyes) if they are well-intended, but most certainly not if they're aimed at fishing what's going on in my heart, or if the only aim is to continuously criticise. Oh, and just to make sure you won't be disappointed: as a rule, I don't do pics. I might add a picture sometimes, but in general, adding pics to the stuff I write isn't realy my thing. Nevertheless, I hope you'll enjoy whatever you read here, and I'll be very pleased if you find some of the articles helpful or if they can positively contribute to your life. You're more than welcome to follow me if you like. I'd feel very honoured if you do that, and ... I FOLLOW BACK!

Leave a Reply

